Nga mihi nui te whanau o Craighead.

End of year count down—It was lovely to see all our Senior students return to school on Monday following the external examination period. These exams went very smoothly, thanks to Examination Centre Manager Mrs Charlotte Woods, NZQA Principal’s Nominee Ms Lara Hearn, trouble-shooter Mrs Kate Hayman, and all our loyal Supervisors and Assistants.

 Memorial Service for Mrs Vicki McLeod—With Senior students back at school this week, our school community took the opportunity to come together along with Tim and Kendra McLeod, to celebrate the life of our HOD Music Mrs Vicki McLeod, who passed away on 2 November. At this service, Vicki was acknowledged for her outstanding commitment to music and performance at Craighead over the past 24 years. She had a huge impact on the lives of so many young women, several of whom have gone on to achieve successful careers in the music industry. On behalf of all Craighead students, Year 12 Chorale members presented a red rose to the McLeod family, then Tim and Kendra were invited to unveil a memorial plaque in honour of Vicki, which sits on the wall outside the Music House entrance. Mrs Rosemary Miller, Mrs Lynne Macfarlane and Performing Arts Leader Kate Lowe were also acknowledged for their immense support of Vicki during her illness and for ensuring ‘business as usual’ in the Music Department. It was a very special occasion.

Christmas Dinner for Staff and Senior StudentsPiped into the dining room by Year 7 bagpiper Pippa Raymond, teaching and Boarding House staff then shared a very stylish and tasty traditional Christmas dinner with our Year 11-13 students on Monday evening. Thanks to our Kitchen staff who made such an effort with their preparation for our feast—from the canapes on the lawn and the beautifully decorated tables, to the carved meats, fresh salads and variety of decadent desserts! Even the cat was impressed! Thanks to photographer Brad Reeve for taking such lovely photos of a very enjoyable occasion. Students in Years 11-13 will be sent a link to enable access to these photos.

This week signals the end of the school year, although members of Senior Management and our School office staff will remain working until next Wednesday 19 December. Our final newsletter will come out next week, along with an invitation to next year’s Year 13 students to attend our overnight Leadership Training camp, beginning at 11am on Monday 28 January 2018. 

 God Bless, Lindy Graham, Principal